top of page

Be a Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN Program

Nursing is a highly valued profession and an in-demand career year-round, particularly in Canada. It’s no surprise why many health professionals love to practice in this country. Immigration options are feasible and salary rates are competitive.

If you are an internationally educated nurse, you might be wondering how to practice in Canada. Read on and find out how to secure a license and become a Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN (Post-graduate Certificate in Nursing) Program.

About Sprott Shaw College

Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN (Post-graduate Certificate in Nursing) Program

Before we dive into the details, let’s first get to know the college and program.

Sprottshaw college is an educational provider known to provide accelerated programs. These programs contain courses designed to prep students for their chosen careers in just 2 years.

The school offers online and in-person lesson delivery and internship opportunities. On top of these, to ensure quality learning, you’ll find industry-experienced instructors who handle classes with a limited student population.

With Sprott Shaw, joining a program has never been this easy! From monthly start dates and zero waitlists, everyone is welcome anytime here at Sprott Shaw!

The Program: Post-Graduate Certificate in Nursing (PGCN) with or without Co-op/Practicum

This program provides training for IENs (Internationally Educated Nurses) to help them prepare for the appropriate nursing role, in line with Canadian best practices.

Through this course, students are expected to advance their critical thinking and administrative abilities, while successfully blending into Canadian culture. The program will also expose students to different test-taking strategies and cater to nursing topics commonly found in NCAS (Nursing Community Assessment Service).

Nursing Community Assessment Service

Completion of the course will require students to attend classes of 32 hours per week with additional studies of 20 to 30 hours. The more students devote their time to improving their English, studying the Canadian Nursing system, and answering mock tests, the chances of nailing the exam is higher.

What is NCAS?

NCAS or Nursing Community Assessment Service is an important requirement prior to taking the NCLEX. It is a competency assessment service that helps internationally educated health professionals in the following areas:

  • Completion of a mandatory registration requirement.

  • Assessment for up to 2 different healthcare roles at once.

  • Engaging quickly in a preferred role and workforce.

Why Take Sprott Shaw College’s Nursing Post-Graduate Program?

You may have heard stories on how many times applicants try to retake the NCLEX but fail to pass. This is because the content is based on Canada’s nursing standards and cultural adaptation.

Due to the differences in how healthcare professionals practice in their home country, tapping only general theories and concepts can lead to flunked exams. This is why taking the Sprott Shaw Post-Graduate program is essential. Students will learn the right occupational language and cultural skills, use them to ace the National Council Licensure Exam (NCLEX), and function effectively when working as healthcare professionals in Canada.

Other than helping an IEN become a certified Canadian Nurse, another way of becoming a Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN (Post-graduate Certificate in Nursing) Program is by registering in Health Care Assistants (HCA) Canada.

Sprott Shaw’s PGCN possesses all the requirements of a Health Care Assistant Access program and has been recognized by BC Care Aide & Community Health Worker Registry. This means completing the program will allow one to practice as a registered Health Care Assistant.

How to Work as a Nurse in Canada: The 4-Step Process

For IENs to practice in Canada, applicants must undergo several processes:

Step 1: Submit an application to NNAS (National Nursing Assessment Service).

Visit the NNAS website, create an account and have your application verified and assessed. Part of the NNAS application includes submitting your language proficiency test results, so be sure to achieve benchmark scores! Once completed, the organization will produce an advisory report to determine if further training is needed.

Step 2: Collect the report from NNAS and submit an application to the college of choice (e.g. CRNBC, CARNA, SRNA, CRNM, CRNO).

Submit the NNAS report to your preferred College of Nurses in Canada and the licensing body will determine your eligibility.

Step 3: Take the NCAS assessment.

This 3-part assessment includes the computer-based, simulation lab, and oral assessment. The objective is to ensure that the applicant has the required competencies that an entry-level healthcare professional in Canada must have.

Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN (Post-graduate Certificate in Nursing) Program

As mentioned earlier, the assessment also helps determine 2 different healthcare roles suited for the applicant to pursue. This can be beneficial for those who are unable to work for the preferred role by offering choices so IENs can immediately join the Canadian health workforce.

Step 4: Assessment of registration requirements.

The last step involves receiving an assessment letter from the Canadian nursing licensing body. The document should contain the requirements to register successfully. This may include additional coursework, on top of passing the NCLEX.

The healthcare industry in Canada continues to grow and so is the demand for a larger workforce. Are you ready to be part of the country’s Nursing labor market? The Fil-Global agents are just a tap away, call or message us now and we will gladly guide you as you fulfill your dream of becoming a Canadian Health Professional through Sprott Shaw’s PGCN (Post-graduate Certificate in Nursing) Program.

35 views0 comments


bottom of page